Time to say no to nuclear power

This is a Climate Justice Testimony from Nor Stadel from Copenhagen, Denmark taken in October 2010. Learn more about how you can collect your own testimonies to spread the stories of climate justice.

DANISH transcription: Hej, jeg hedder Nor og jeg kommer fra København. Jeg er et heldigt menneske fordi der hvor jeg bor har jeg havet lige ved siden af mig. Nemlig Østersøen. Og ligesom mange andre københavnere elsker jeg at svømme i havet. Man hvad vi ikke tænker på – eller hvad meget få tænker på – er at Østersøen er det mest radioaktivt forurenede hav i verden. Her med klimakrisen er atomkraftindustrien meget ivrig efter at lancere eller ophøje atomkraft som den helt store løsning på – ja – alt! Men jeg synes bare ikke at det kan være rigtigt at man glemmer at tænke på hvor ødelæggende atomkraft er for mennesker og miljø, både hvad angår udvindingen af uran og deponeringen af det højradioaktive affald. Så jeg synes at det er på tide at vi begynder at tage ansvar for den klode vi lever på og tage ansvar for vores medmennesker. Ja, jeg synes at det er på tide at vi siger nej til atomkraft en gang for alle og starter nogle investeringer i ægte vedvarende energi.

ENGLISH translation: Hi, my name is Nor. I’m from Copenhagen. I’m lucky because I have the sea right where I live. This is The Baltic Sea. Like many other people from Copenhagen I enjoy going swimming in the sea. But what we’re not aware of — or what very few are aware of — is that the Baltic Sea is the most radioactive sea in the world. With the current climate crisis, the nuclear industry is very eager to promote nuclear power as being the solution to — well — everything! However I just think that we shouldn’t forget about how damaging nuclear power is to people and to the environment – from the extraction of uranium to the dumping of high-level nuclear waste. Therefore I think it’s time for us to take responsibility for the planet as well as for our fellow human beings. I think it’s time for us to say no to nuclear power once and for all and start investments in truly sustainable energy.

Leave a Reply

  • Friends of the Earth Europe gratefully acknowledges financial assistance from the European Commission, European Climate Foundation and the Oak Foundation. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility

  • of Friends of the Earth Europe and cannot be regarded as reflecting the position of the funders mentioned above. The funders cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information that appears on this website.
