Livelihoods almost impossible to maintain

This is a Climate Justice Testimony from Robbie from Somerset, UK taken in October 2010. Learn more about how you can collect your own testimonies to spread the stories of climate justice.

ENGLISH transcription: So I have two climate testimonies. And the first is stories from my parents – my mum and dad — who in the south west of England in a region that’s called Somerset where they grew up as children would recount stories of deep snow that would fill the roads and fill the lanes in the winter. And I have to say that now it’s really sad that there is almost no snow at all that comes in winter in my area, my village in Somerset. And I think that is something that I’ve certainly missed out on quite a bit of fun as a child doing that. And I feel very sad that the future generations also won’t be able to experience snowy winter and fun in the winter wonderland.
The second thing. The second climate testimony is that I visited. Last year I visited Bangladesh. And I went to the north west of the country to work with a community project with very poor communities along the side of the massive Brahmaputra River. And there it was abundantly clear that there are people now who I was speaking to who already live in very fragile conditions and already are threatened by the environment that they live in and it’s quite clear that climate change will make their lives almost impossible to maintain and they’re already so poor. The flooding, storms, droughts, difficulties with growing their crops, having to move their house constantly every two or three years because the place where they live is suddenly become flooded by the river. That is incredibly moving for me and I think it’s a really powerful reason why we need to take action very strongly and urgently on climate change.

Leave a Reply

  • Friends of the Earth Europe gratefully acknowledges financial assistance from the European Commission, European Climate Foundation and the Oak Foundation. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility

  • of Friends of the Earth Europe and cannot be regarded as reflecting the position of the funders mentioned above. The funders cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information that appears on this website.
